READS - Really Easy and Dynamic Strategies - Reading Comprehension Tool

Summer Reading Book Series for Kids – 07/19/12

Posted on: Thursday, July 19th, 2012

To encourage your kids to continue reading over the summer we are suggesting three book series.  Each series contains a number of books so if you child enjoys one of these books he or she may be interested in reading additional books in the series.  This is a great way to keep your child reading and now, over the summer, to help combat “summer brain drain”.

Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer is for kids age 10 and up.  “Twelve-year-old villain, Artemis Fowl, is the most ingenious criminal mastermind in history.  His bold and daring plan is to hold a leprechaun to ransom.  But he’s taking on more than he bargained for when he kidnaps Captain Holly Short of the LEPrecon (Lower Elements Police Reconnaissance Unit).  For a start, leprechaun technology is more advanced than our own.  Add to that the fact that Holly is a true heroine and that her senior officer Commander Root will stop at nothing to get her back and you’ve got the mother of all sieges brewing!.”  This is the first in an eight book science fiction fantasy novel series.  Review from Amazon.

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (The Chronicles of Narnia) by C. S. Lewis is for kids age 8 and up.  “Narnia … the land beyond the wardrobe door, a secret place frozen in eternal winter … a magical country waiting to be set free.
Lucy is the first to find the secret of the wardrobe in the professor’s mysterious old house. At first her brothers and sister don’t believe her when she tells of her visit to the land of Narnia. But soon Edmund, then Peter and Susan step through the wardrobe themselves. In Narnia they find a country buried under the evil enchantment of the White Witch. When they meet the Lion Aslan, they realize they’ve been called to a great adventure and bravely join the battle to free Narnia from the Witch’s sinister spell.”  This is the first in a seven book fantasy series.  Review from Amazon.

The Name of this Book Is Secret (The Secret Series) by Pseudonymous Bosch is for kids age 8 and up.  “In enormous lettering the first page warns: “Do not read beyond this page!”  The reason?  The book contains a secret so nefarious as to be dangerous even to innocent page-turners daring enough to venture forth.  The first few chapters present a tricky little exercise in metafiction in which the story about a secret is revealed as being itself too secret to tell, a ploy sure to tickle more puzzlesome readers.  But then the intrusive narrator, who is equal parts snarky and delightful, strikes a deal and deigns to tell the story with fake names in Your Hometown, as long as you agree to “forget everything you read as soon as you read it.”  Then follows a not terribly shocking story wherein two intrepid kids uncover a mysterious society bent on immortality, which gets them in and out of all manner of trouble.  While some may be disappointed that there is no mind-bending secret at the bottom of it all as promised, most junior Da Vinci Coders will likely be having too much fun to notice.”  This is the first in a 5 book action/adventure series.  Review from Amazon.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Activities for kids, Book List, Book recommendations, Books, fantasy, parent involvement, Reading series for kids, Science Fiction/Fantasy, Summer learning loss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply