READS - Really Easy and Dynamic Strategies - Reading Comprehension Tool
Home

New Chapter Book Suggestions for the Kids. – 09/11/13

Posted on: Wednesday, September 11th, 2013

We will be on vacation for the next few weeks.  But, before we go, we wanted to tell you about some great new chapter books that have been added to already existing popular series.  So, while we’re away doing the “tourist” thing, do a lot of reading and please be our reviewers and let us know what you think of these new books.  When we return we hope to have a lot of new experiences to share through our blog.

Magic Tree House #50: Hurry Up, Houdini! by Mary Pope Osborne is for kids in grades 2 – 5.  “Magic Tree House #50 features Jack and Annie and legendary magician, Harry Houdini!  If kids get hooked on Magic Tree House, they’re hooked on reading! The Magic Tree House books, with their fiction and nonfiction books, are perfect for parents and teachers just starting to get into the “Core Curriculum.”  With a blend of magic, adventure, history, science, danger, and cuteness, the book topics range from kid pleasers (pirates, the Titanic, pandas) to curriculum perfect (rain forest, American Revolution, Abraham Lincoln) to seasonal shoe-ins (Halloween, Christmas, Thanksgiving).  There is truly something for everyone here.”  Review from Amazon.

The Sasquatch Escape (The Imaginary Veterinary) by Suzanne Selfors is for kids in grades 2 – 7.  “When Ben Silverstein is sent to the rundown town of Buttonville to spend the summer with his grandfather, he’s certain it will be the most boring vacation ever.  That is, until his grandfather’s cat brings home what looks like . . . a baby dragon?
 
Amazed, Ben enlists the help of Pearl Petal, a local girl with an eye for adventure. They take the wounded dragon to the only veterinarian’s office in town — Dr. Woo’s Worm Hospital. But as Ben and Pearl discover once they are inside, Dr. Woo’s isn’t a worm hospital at all — it’s actually a secret hospital for imaginary creatures.
 
After Ben accidentally leaves the hospital’s front door unlocked, a rather large, rather stinky, and very hairy beast escapes into Buttonville. Ben and Pearl are tasked with retrieving the runaway creature, and what started out as an ordinary summer becomes the story of a lifetime.
 
Suzanne Selfors delivers a wild journey filled with mythical creatures and zany adventures that are anything but imaginary.”  Review from Amazon.

Amelia Bedelia Chapter Book #3: Amelia Bedelia Road Trip! by Herman Parish is for kids in grades 1 – 5.  “Amelia Bedelia, America’s favorite housekeeper, had a childhood full of surprises, mischief, and hilarious misunderstandings.  In this illustrated chapter book adventure, just right for fans of Judy Moody and Ivy + Bean, young Amelia Bedelia piles into the family car and takes a road trip with her family.  This is the third book in the Amelia Bedelia chapter book series and is just right for newly independent readers ready for a more challenging vocabulary and books with chapters.
 
Amelia Bedelia takes everything literally and that leads to all kinds of silly misunderstandings.  Tripping over roads may not be your idea of fun, but for Amelia Bedelia a road trip is a true adventure!  The best-selling and beloved housekeeper has been making readers laugh for more than fifty years.  Amelia Bedelia has a warm and positive attitude and she has fun with language, vocabulary, and idioms.  The Amelia Bedelia chapter books feature short, easy-to-read chapters, illustrations throughout, and Amelia Bedelia’s can-do spirit.  This is the third book in the chapter book series featuring the childhood of America’s favorite housekeeper.  The first book was called Amelia Bedelia Means Business and the second book was Amelia Bedelia Unleashed—and you don’t have to read them in series order to enjoy them.”  Review from Amazon.

Ballpark Mysteries #6: The Wrigley Riddle by David A. Kelly is for kids in grades 1 – 4.  “Next up to the plate—book #6 in our early chapter book mystery series, where each book is set in a different American ballpark!
 
Ivy-covered walls—they’re the most famous part of the Chicago Cubs’ historic ballpark, Wrigley Field.  Mike and Kate can’t wait to get down on the field to see the ivy for themselves.  But when they do, they’re horrified to discover patches of the ivy have been ripped away!  Who would want to sabotage the stadium?  Is it someone trying to curse the Cubs? Or is the rumor of a treasure hidden under the ivy tempting greedy fans?  The Wrigley Riddle includes a fun fact page about Chicago’s Wrigley Field.
 
Cross Ron Roy’s A to Z Mystery series with Matt Christopher’s sports books and you get the Ballpark Mysteries: fun, puzzling whodunits aimed at the younger brothers and sisters of John Feinstein’s fans.

Amazon Best Books of the Year 2013 (So Far): Chapter Books Review from Amazon.

Ivy and Bean Take the Case: Book 10 by Annie Barrows is for kids in grades 1 – 4.  “Watch out, you diabolical masterminds!  There’s a new detective on Pancake Court: Bean!  She laughs at danger!  She solves even the most mysterious mysteries!  What?  There aren’t any mysteries?  Then Bean and her assistant, Ivy, will make some!”  Review from Amazon.

My Weirder School #8: Dr. Nicholas Is Ridiculous! by Dan Gutman is for kids in grades 1 – 5.  “A.J. and his friends are now third graders at Ella Mentry school in Dan Gutman’s outrageously funny chapter book series My Weirder School.
 
In this eighth book, Dr. Nicholas Is Ridiculous!, college professor Dr. Nicholas visits A.J.’s class to help the students improve their standardized test scores in history.  The weird thing is, Dr. Nicholas doesn’t care about the date Christopher Columbus came to America, who wrote the Declaration of Independence, or other important historical facts.  She’s more interested in weird information like the history of the toilet bowl!
 
Dr. Nicholas has even built a time machine to take the class on a field trip to the past and future.  Who will get stuck in time?  You’ll have to read to find out!
Goofy illustrations by Jim Paillot make this adventure with Dr. Nicholas even more hilarious.”  Review from Amazon.

Bink and Gollie: Best Friends Forever by Kate DiCamillo is for kids in grades 1 – 4.  “Ah, best friendship. Short, wild-haired Bink and tall, neat-haired Gollie epitomize its ups and downs.  In this sequel to Bink & Gollie (2010) and Bink & Gollie: Two for One (2012), DiCamillo and McGhee once again cleverly merge early reader, graphic novel, and picture book into a delightful ode to an unlikely duo.  In the first of three short chapters, Gollie, looking through an old family album, finds a picture of crown-wearing Aunt Natasha, dated 1908, which confirms what she’s long suspected: “royal blood flowed in my veins.”  So Gollie dons an impressive outfit of crown and scepter; only, Bink is not impressed, especially since no pancakes are involved in celebrating the royal news.  The second finds Bink struggling with her petite stature, and so she orders the “Stretch-O-Matic” to try and lengthen herself out.  Finally, in the last adventure, Bink and Gollie look into breaking a world record.  Droll, and with spot-on emotions, this return of the dynamic, roller-skating pair will make fans cheer.  –Ann Kelley.”  Review from Amazon.

Invisible Inkling: The Whoopie Pie War by Emily Jenkins is for kids in grades 1 – 5.  “The adventures of Brooklyn boy Hank Wolowitz and his invisible—but not imaginary—friend continue with The Whoopie Pie War, the third book in the Invisible Inkling series by Emily Jenkins.
 
A truck selling ice-cream whoopie pies sets up right in front of the ice-cream shop belonging to Hank’s family, and it’s taking away all the shop’s business.  His dad is going crazy.  His mom is furious.
 
Hank and Inkling, his invisible bandapat, aren’t going to take it. The Whoopie Pie War is on!  They’ll do whatever it takes to beat the whoopie pie truck—unicorn costumes, extreme kindness, an army of supervillains.
 
The illustrated chapter book’s mix of silliness, fantasy, strong sense of place, and a realistic family make it a great pick for middle-grade readers.”  Review from Amazon.

Naples! #1 (Recipe for Adventure) by Giada De Laurentiis is for kids in grades 2 – 6.  “When Zia Donatella comes to live with the Bertolizzi family, little do Alfie and his older sister Emilia know what’s in store for them. Zia Dontella is determined to show the kids how a home-cooked meal is better than even the best take-out pizza or burrito.  And when Zia’s plan actually transports Alfie and Emilia to famous food cities around the world, they learn first-hand how food can not only take you places but can also bring you back home.  Alfie and Emilia find themselves transported to Naples, where they meet Marco, a young Italian boy on a very important mission to shop for the essential ingredients for his family’s entry in the city’s annual pizzafest contest.  In their whirlwind search for the perfect items, Alfie and Emilia not only get a taste of Italy, but also find themselves refereeing a family feud between Marco’s family and his uncle’s family.”  Review from Amazon.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
This entry was posted in Annie Barrows, Book recommendations, Chapter Book, Dan Gutman, David A. Kelly, Giada De Laurentiis, Herman Parish, Kate DiCamillo, Mary Pope Osborne, parent involvement. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply